Department of Planning & Environment

Draft New England North West Regional Plan

The NSW Government is seeking feedback on the Draft New England North West Regional Plan

The Draft New England North West Regional Plan outlines a sustainable 20-year vision that takes advantage of the region’s diverse climates, landscapes, and resources to create great places to live and work

The draft Plan features five goals for the region:
• A growing and diversified agricultural sector
• A diversified economy through the management of mineral and energy resources, including renewable energy generation
• Communities resilient to change, with housing choice and services that meet shifting needs and lifestyles
• Prosperous urban centres with job opportunities
• Protected water, environment and heritage

The draft Plan focusses on generating job opportunities, providing homes, increasing market opportunities to get produce across the country and protecting both the natural environment and the local agricultural industry.

Tamworth and Armidale have been recognised for the first time as regional cities. Together they will accommodate over half the region’s population by 2036.
Further information is available at

Feedback invited
You can view and comment on the draft Plans up to 20 March 2017.

You can make a submission by:
o uploading a submission response
o writing to the Acting Director Regions, Northern, Locked Bag 9022 - Grafton NSW 2460
Attachments & Resources
View Online Submissions
Website Submissions - Govt, Agency & Org.
Website Submissions - Public Feedback
Key dates and other information
Exhibition Commences 19/12/2016
Exhibition Concludes 20/03/2017
Exhibition Location • Department of Planning and Environment, 320 Pitt Street, Sydney NSW 2000 • Department of Planning and Environment, Level 3, 49 Victoria Street, Grafton
Exhibiting agency or agencies Department of Planning and Environment
Type Plans
Local Government Area Glen Innes Severn Council, Gunnedah Shire Council, Gwydir Shire Council, Inverell Shire Council, Liverpool Plains Shire Council, Moree Plains Shire Council, Narrabri Shire Council, Tamworth Regional Council, Tenterfield Shire Council, Uralla Shire Council, Walcha Council, Armidale Regional Council