Department of Planning & Environment

Coastal Reforms

The Department of Planning and Environment, together with the Office of Environment and Heritage, is developing a new coastal management framework.
The proposed framework responds to existing and emerging coastal challenges and opportunities, with the aim of having thriving and resilient communities living and working on a healthy coast now and into the future.
Community input is an important part of the planning process and we thank you for your feedback.

The draft Coastal Management SEPP was exhibited between 11/11/2016 and 21/01/2017.

The final Coastal Management SEPP was made in March 2018 and commenced on the 03/04/2018.

Further information is available at
Attachments & Resources
View Online Submissions
Website Submissions - Govt, Agency & Org.
Website Submissions - Public Feedback
Key dates and other information
Exhibition Commences 11/11/2016
Exhibition Concludes 21/01/2017
Exhibition Location • Department of Planning and Environment, 320 Pitt Street, Sydney NSW 2000 •
Relevant Legislation Coastal Management Act 2016
Exhibiting agency or agencies Department of Planning and Environment
Type Plans
Local Government Area Ashfield Municipal Council, Ballina Shire Council, Bega Valley Shire Council, Bellingen Shire Council, Blacktown City Council, Botany Bay City Council, Burwood Council, Byron Shire Council, Campbelltown City Council, Canada Bay City Council, Clarence Valley Council, Coffs Harbour City Council, Dungog Shire Council, Eurobodalla Shire Council, Fairfield City Council, Hawkesbury City Council, Hunters Hill Municipal Council, Kempsey Shire Council, Kiama Municipal Council, Lake Macquarie City Council, Lane Cove Municipal Council, Lismore City Council, Liverpool City Council, Maitland City Council, Mosman Municipal Council, Nambucca Shire Council, Newcastle City Council, North Sydney Council, Penrith City Council, Port Macquarie-Hastings Council, Port Stephens Council, Randwick City Council, Richmond Valley Council, Rockdale City Council, Ryde City Council, Shellharbour City Council, Shoalhaven City Council, Strathfield Municipal Council, Sutherland Shire Council, Sydney City Council, Tweed Shire Council, Waverley Council, Willoughby City Council, Wollongong City Council, Woollahra Municipal Council, Canterbury-Bankstown Council, Central Coast Council, City of Parramatta Council, Cumberland Council, Georges River Council, Inner West Council, Mid-Coast Council, Northern Beaches Council, The Hills Shire, Hornsby Shire